Emma Bloom – ♫This girl is on FIRE!♫

CONTAINS SPOILERS!

I want to keep spoilers on my write up about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children to the absolute minimum if possibly none at all so I decided to put this separately because I can’t help but write even just a bit about it. So here goes:

If I could be one character in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I’d want to be Emma Bloom. She looks young for an 88 year-old with an attitude just as fiery as her abilities. I’ve always fantasized being able to control fire as such I have a thing for characters who can wield fire and fire itself:

Pyro from X-Men, Human Torch from Fantastic Four, Heat Blast from Ben 10, Zuko and Azula from the Last Airbender, Natsu Dragneel from Fairy Tail, Recca Hanabishi’s dragons from Flame of Recca (I like the fiery dragons more than the wielder in this case), Roy Mustang from Full Metal Alchemist, Katniss Everdeen- the girl on fire(literally burning), the fire on the just ignited match stick, fire devouring Joan of Arc as she is condemned as a witch, fire on your neighbor’s burning building… you get the idea.

Emma Bloom and her ball of fire

Because of that I got rather attached to Emma Bloom. My feels for her during the entire story especially on that photo on the last few pages. I can imagine the way the flames would dance on her palms as they change in color at her will. I loved the part where she almost melted Dr. Golan.

… and then her hands , gloved in flame, came from behind and seized him around the neck. I heard Golan’s flesh singe like a cold steak on a hot grill.

She should get angry more often. Go read the book!

With that I’ll leave you with this song that reminds me of all the female fire wielders and women burning on the stake for being accused as witches.


BONUS: Imagine me belting this so out of tune, like a little kid screaming for her mommy, you’re going to love how beautiful your ears would bleed. 😀

If you must fail, fail spectacularly.
-Dr. Golan

One thought on “Emma Bloom – ♫This girl is on FIRE!♫

Leave a comment